Eat Brownies

If you are eating Zone or Paleo-Zone this does not fit in well...if you do 20 servings out of this there are 20 grams of fat per serving, yeah, that's not good. So go easy.

If you are eating Zone or Paleo-Zone this does not fit in well…if you do 20 servings out of this there are 20 grams of fat per serving, yeah, that’s not good. So go easy.

I know, I know. You’d never thought I’d post a brownie recipe. The thing is I don’t even like brownies, usually they are a dry and lame excuse for cake, which I’d much rather have. However these brownies rock and they are gluten free. And they make a ton because you can’t eat more than a small square at a time before your head explodes from the chocolate. 

I made a batch quite a while ago (the one pictured) and I’m still eating on them. Usually I don’t eat one everyday but about everyday or if its a particularly bad day I eat two and then regret it. So be warned!

Triple Chocolate No-Bake Brownies
Serves:20
Prep time:15 mins
Total time:15 mins
 
Ingredients
  • for the brownies:
  • 4 cups whole walnuts
  • 1½ cup raw cacao (or 1.5 cup cocoa powder)
  • ½ tsp sea salt
  • 12 oz fresh medjool dates, pitted
  • 8 drops liquid stevia (I did not do this, you definitely do not need it)
  • for the chocolate ganache:
  • ½ cup cocoa powder
  • ½ cup maple syrup
  • ¼ cup coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract and a pinch of sea salt
 
Instructions
  1. Process walnuts in your food processor, until finely ground. This forms the “flour.” 
  2. Add raw cacao (or cocoa powder), and sea salt. Process until incorporated.
  3. Add the stevia (or not, I really advise against it), and then the dates one at a time (seriously, one at a time) through the top feed, while the food processor is running. Once all of the dates are used, the mixture should look crumbly, but stick and hold together. Press mixture into a 9×9 baking dish that is lined with wax paper, cover and place in the fridge while you make the ganache.
  4. Add the cocoa powder, melted coconut oil, maple syrup, sea salt and vanilla extract to the food processor (no need to clean in-between), and process until emulsified. Spread ganache evenly over the top of the brownies. Place in the fridge or freezer to set for 1 hour before cutting.

If it looks like an expensive recipe to make…it is. I long for the days when I paid two dollars for a whole pack of dates but apparently a date tree won’t grow in Oklahoma. Good luck on your brownie making!

Comments? Questions? Please leave them for me.

One response to “Eat Brownies

Leave a comment